Criticizing Photographs, Chapter 2: Describing Photographs

It makes sense to open a chapter about describing photographs with descriptions of photographs, which is exactly what the author does here. Barrett goes on to breakd down the photograph in to four parts: matter, form, medium, and style, which is how I will divide the questions I devised to guide my critique of photos in the future

Questions to ask myself as I view photos

Matter

What is the photo of? What can I see in the photo? What is missing that I might expect?

Form

How does the subject look? How is it defined? (by color? shape? contrast?) Is the subject distorted in some way? Does it look as I expect it to?

Medium

How has the artist chosen to capture the subject? What am I looking at? How was it made?

Style

What Artists does this remind me of? How does this make me feel? Does it remind me of another piece of art work? Is this intentional? What else do I know about the artist?

Leave a comment